View all text of Subpart Q [§ 922.180 - § 922.187]

§ 922.181 - Boundary.

(a) Except for excluded areas described in paragraph (b) of this section, the Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary consists of the submerged lands and waters off the coast of the Hawaiian Islands seaward from the shoreline, cutting across the mouths of rivers and streams:

(1) To the 100-fathom (183 meter) isobath from Kailiu Point eastward to Mokolea Point, Kauai;

(2) To the 100-fathom (183 meter) isobath from Puaena Point eastward to Mahie Point, and from the Kapahulu Groin in Waikiki eastward to Makapuu Point, Oahu;

(3) To the 100-fathom (183 meter) isobath from Cape Halawa, Molokai, south and westward to Ilio Point, Molokai; southwestward to include Penguin Banks; eastward along the east side of Lanai; to the waters seaward of the three nautical mile limit north of Kahoolawe, to the Hanamanoia Lighthouse on Maui, and northward along the shoreline to Lipoa Point, Maui;

(4) To the deep water area of Pailolo Channel from Cape Halawa, Molokai, to Lipoa Point, Maui, and southward;

(5) To the 100-fathom (183 meter) isobath from Upolu Point southward to Keahole Point, Hawaii.

(b) Excluded from the Sanctuary boundary are the following commercial ports and small boat harbors:

Hawaii (Big Island) Kawaihae Boat Harbor & Small Boat Basin Lanai Kaumalapau Harbor, Manele Harbor Maui Lahaina Boat Harbor Maalaea Boat Harbor Molokai Hale o Lono Harbor Kaunakakai Harbor Oahu Kuapa Pond (Hawaii Kai)

(c) The coordinates of the lateral extents of each boundary area within the Sanctuary boundary appear in appendix A of this subpart Q.