View all text of Chapter 15 A [§ 931 - § 939c]

§ 932. Commissioners; appointment, number, and compensation; term of office; vacancy
(1) The United States shall be represented on the Commission by 4 Commissioners who shall be appointed by the President and who may not receive compensation for service as Commissioners. Of the Commissioners—
(A) 1 shall be an official of the United States Government; and
(B) 3 shall be individuals who reside in different Great Lakes States and who are knowledgeable regarding the fisheries of the Great Lakes, except that 1 of them must also be an official of 1
1 So in original. Probably should be followed by “a”.
Great Lakes State.
(2) The President shall appoint an alternate Commissioner who shall perform the duties of a Commissioner—
(A) until a vacancy referred to in subsection (b)(3) is filled; and
(B) in the event of the absence of a Commissioner from any meeting of the United States Section or the Commission.
(3) Individuals serving as such Commissioners shall not be considered to be Federal employees while performing such service, except for purposes of injury compensation or tort claims liability as provided in chapter 81 of title 5 and chapter 171 of title 28.
(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), the term of office of Commissioners appointed under subsection (a)(1)(B) is 6 years.
(2) Of the Commissioners first appointed under subsection (a)(1)(B) after November 14, 1986, 1 shall be appointed for a term of 2 years, 1 shall be appointed for a term of 4 years, and 1 shall be appointed for a term of 6 years.
(3) Whenever a vacancy occurs among Commissioners appointed under subsection (a)(1)(B), the President shall appoint an individual to fill that vacancy for the remainder of the applicable term.
(June 4, 1956, ch. 358, § 3, 70 Stat. 242; Pub. L. 99–659, title IV, § 405(a), Nov. 14, 1986, 100 Stat. 3737; Pub. L. 106–562, title III, § 301, Dec. 23, 2000, 114 Stat. 2806.)