View all text of Subchapter LXIII [§ 459 - § 459j-8]

§ 459e. Fire Island National Seashore
(a) Purposes; authorization for establishment

For the purpose of conserving and preserving for the use of future generations certain relatively unspoiled and undeveloped beaches, dunes, and other natural features within Suffolk County, New York, which possess high values to the Nation as examples of unspoiled areas of great natural beauty in close proximity to large concentrations of urban population, the Secretary of the Interior is authorized to establish an area to be known as the “Fire Island National Seashore”.

(b) Boundaries

The boundaries of the national seashore shall extend from the easterly boundary of the main unit of Robert Moses State Park eastward to Moriches Inlet and shall include not only Fire Island proper, but also such islands and marshlands in the Great South Bay, Bellport Bay, and Moriches Bay adjacent to Fire Island as Sexton Island, West Island, Hollins Island, Ridge Island, Pelican Island, Pattersquash Island, and Reeves Island and such other small and adjacent islands, marshlands, and wetlands as would lend themselves to contiguity and reasonable administration within the national seashore and, in addition, the waters surrounding said area to distances of one thousand feet in the Atlantic Ocean and up to four thousand feet in Great South Bay and Moriches Bay and, in addition, mainland terminal and headquarters sites, not to exceed a total of twelve acres, on the Patchogue River within Suffolk County, New York, all as delineated on a map identified as “Fire Island National Seashore”, numbered OGP–0004, dated May 1978. The Secretary shall publish said map in the Federal Register, and it may also be examined in the offices of the Department of the Interior.

(Pub. L. 88–587, § 1, Sept. 11, 1964, 78 Stat. 928; Pub. L. 95–625, title III, § 322(a),