View all text of Part 300 [§ 300.1 - § 300.6]

§ 300.3 - FSIS organization.

(a) General. The organization of FSIS reflects the Agency's primary regulatory responsibilities: implementation of the FMIA, including fish of the order Siluriformes, the PPIA, and the EPIA. FSIS implements the inspection provisions of the FMIA, the PPIA, and the EPIA through its field structure.

(b) Headquarters. FSIS has eight principal components or offices, each of which is under the direction of a Deputy Administrator. The Deputy Administrators, along with their staffs, and the Administrator, along with the Office of the Administrator and three staff offices that report to the Administrator, are located at U.S. Department of Agriculture headquarters in Washington, DC.

(1) Program Offices. FSIS's headquarters offices are the Office of Public Health and Science, which provides scientific analysis, advice, data, and recommendations on matters involving public health and science; the Office of Management, which provides centralized administrative and support services; the Office of Policy and Program Development, which develops and articulates the Agency's policies regarding food safety and other consumer protections; the Office of Field Operations, which manages regulatory oversight and inspection (see paragraph (c) of this section); the Office of Food Security and Emergency Preparedness, which works to prevent or, if necessary, coordinate a response to an intentional attack on the food supply; the Office of Program Evaluation, Enforcement, and Review, which acts to ensure that Agency programs are functioning in an efficient and effective manner; the Office of Public Affairs, Education, and Outreach, which is responsible for facilitating communications between FSIS and Congress, the Agency's constituents, and the media; and the Office of International Affairs, which is responsible for recommending and developing international policy activities.

(2) [Reserved]

(c) Field. FSIS's field structure consists of eighteen district offices and a technical center.

(1) District offices. Each district office, under the direction of a District Manager, manages a farm-to-table food safety program of regulatory oversight and inspection in a district consisting of a State or several States and territories.

The locations of the district offices and the districts' geographic boundaries are as follows:

Alameda, CACalifornia. Boulder, CO
Salem, OR (satellite office)
Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Alaska, American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, and Washington. Minneapolis, MNMinnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Des Moines, IAIowa and Nebraska. Lawrence, KSKansas and Missouri. Springdale, ARArkansas, Louisiana, and Oklahoma. Dallas, TXTexas. Madison, WIMichigan and Wisconsin. Chicago, IL
Pickering, OH, (satellite office)
Illinois, Ohio, and Indiana. Philadelphia, PAPennsylvania and New Jersey. Albany, NYConnecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Beltsville, MDDelaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia. Raleigh, NCNorth Carolina, South Carolina, and Kentucky. Atlanta, GAFlorida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Jackson, MSAlabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee.

(2) Technical Service Center. The Technical Service Center, which is located in Omaha, Nebraska, provides technical guidance, review, and training on the interpretation and application of regulatory requirements.

[63 FR 72354, Dec. 31, 1998, as amended at 69 FR 253, Jan. 5, 2004; 80 FR 75616, Dec. 2, 2015]